Coastal Groups of England

Coastal Groups comprise all the key partners in coastal management – principally the coastal managers from maritime Local Authorities, Ports Authorities and the Environment Agency. Other interested organisations, such as Natural England and English Heritage, will also be members. 

There are seven strategic coastal groups in England, as prescribed by Defra in March 2008, each of them formed with regard to local coastal processes (sediment cells) and River Basin Management Plans. 

Coastal Groups in England report 2008 (PDF)

Coastal Groups are voluntary groups with significant influence. They do not receive funding from central government but are resourced through a range of mechanisms generally involving membership contributions. 

East Anglia Coastal Group

Gibraltar Point to Thames Barrier

South West Coastal Group

Portland Bill to Hartland Point
website currently offline

Severn Estuary Coastal Group

Hartland Point to St Govan’s Head

Coastal group boundaries are not coincident with national boundaries and, following coastal process principles, the strategic groups need to consider issues beyond the English borders.

Coastal Groups of England map

Coastal Groups of England map

SCOPAC Region Coastal Partnerships

Dorset Coast Forum

Strategic Coastal Partnership made up of over 220 public, private and voluntary member organisations

The Solent Forum

Covers the whole of the Solent, including Southampton Water and the three main harbours – Portsmouth, Langstone and Chichester – and the Isle of Wight

Eastern Solent Coastal Partnership

Fareham Borough Council, Gosport Borough Council, Havant Borough Council and Portsmouth City Council